Bruce Kirkpatrick

University of Colorado MSTP Annual Retreat


On behalf of the MSTP Retreat Committee and MSTP Student Council, welcome to the 4th annual MSTP retreat! This retreat strengthens our MSTP student and alumni community by providing a forum whereby current MSTPs, MSTP alumni, and mentors can learn about the ongoing research of current students and celebrate the recent successes of both students and the program at large. This year’s event features oral presentations from current PhD students, 1-minute thesis presentations, poster sessions, breakout workshops, and a keynote address.

Schedule (see program for details)

  • 8:30-9:00 AM — Registration and coffee
  • 9:00-9:30 AM — Opening remarks and program address
  • 9:30-10:30 AM — Student speakers 1
  • 10:30-10:45 AM — 1-minute student talks
  • 10:45-11:00 AM — Break
  • 11:00-11:30 AM — Poster session 1
  • 11:30 AM-12:15 PM — Lunch
  • 12:15-1:15 PM — Keynote address
  • 1:15-2:15 PM — Breakout sessions
  • 2:15-2:30 PM — Break
  • 2:30-3:00 PM — Poster session 2
  • 3:00-4:00 PM — Student speakers 2
  • 4:00-4:15 PM — Retreat Wrap-Up (and Awards!)
  • 4:30-?:?? PM — Post-retreat happy hour at Cedar Creek Pub

Excellence in Service Award

(Vote here!) This award aims to recognize an outstanding student in the University of Colorado MSTP that improves the lives of their fellow classmates and the experience of the MD/PhD training through their actions. Whether this person serves in an official role (eg: admissions, second look, curriculum committees) or takes initiative in an unofficial capacity (hosts dinners, brings people together across program years), his or her efforts are an example of selfless service. Congratulations to the 2021 EiS Winner, Hans Anderson!